Sunday, October 1, 2023

structure of IATF 16949

Structure of IATF 16949

The IATF 16949 structure is split into 11 sections. (1 introduction + 10 clauses). 10 clauses are further classified in 3+7 group. 

The first three are introductory, with the last seven containing the requirements for the Quality Management System. The structure is similar to that of ISO 9001:2015.

3 Introductory clauses of IATF 16949

  • Clause 1: Scope
  • Clause 2: Normative references
  • Clause 3: Terms and definitions

7 Main auditable clauses of IATF 16949- containing requirements of QMS:-

  • Clause-4: Context of Organization
  • Clause-5: Leadership
  • Clause-6: Planning
  • Clause-7: Support
  • Clause-8: Operations
  • Clause-9: Performance Evaluation
  • Clause-10: Improvement

Before understanding IATF 16949 structure, lets understand what is PDCA- Plan do check act?

PDCA stand for Plan do check act. This is a method used in business for control and continuous improvement in process and product. It is also called Deming circle or cycle, also shewhart cycle. With the PDCA we bring continuous improvement in quality of product and process.

Let’s understand each word meaning:-

Plan: – We set objectives and build process necessary to deliver the result.

Do: – Implement what we have planned.

Check: – Monitor and measure the process and result against the objective, including effectiveness, efficiency and risk.

Act: – Take action to improve the result. 

PDCA Cycle

The Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) cycle can be applied to all processes and to the quality management system as a whole. This change allows the standard to better align with business strategic direction, become more compatible with other management system standards, and incorporate the Plan-Do-Check-Act approach. This PDCA cycle play vital role in understanding IATF 16949 structure.

What is PDCA approach in IATF-16949?

Clause 4, 5, 6 and 7 (Context of Organization, leadership, planning & Support) come under plan section.

Clause 8- Operations comes under Do section.

Clause 9- Performance Evaluation comes under check section.

Clause 10- Improvement comes under Act section.

See below picture for understanding.

PDCA Approach in QMS

Below you can read the topics come under each clause of IATF-16949. The lines mentioned below each heading are basically requirement of Quality management system to run any business. These requirements to be established and to be sustain within the organization to run a successful business.  In any organization we have to implement below sections.

4- Context of Organization

  1. Understanding the organization and its context
  2. Understanding the need and expectation of interested parties
  3. Determining the scope of Quality management system
  4. Quality management system and its processes

5- Leadership

  1. Leadership and commitment
  2. Policy
  3. Organizational Roles, responsibilities and authorities

6- Planning

  1. Action to address the risk and opportunities
  2. Quality objectives and planning to achieve them
  3. Planning of changes

7- Support

  1. Resources
  2. Competence
  3. Awareness
  4. Communication
  5. Documented information

8- Operations

  1. Operational planning and control
  2. Requirement for product and services
  3. Design and development of product and services
  4. Control of externally provided processes, product and services
  5. Production and services problem
  6. Release of product and services
  7. Controlling of Nonconforming items

9- Performance Evaluation

  1. Monitoring, measurement, analysis and evaluation
  2. Internal Audits
  3. Management Review

10- Improvement

  1. General
  2. Nonconformity and corrective action
  3. Continual improvement

IATF16949 Staructure
Here 7 clauses of IATF-16949 are correlated to each other. We need to established quality management system process approach within the organization. In which we have to decide organization context and have to understand customer requirement.
These requirement become input for organization and to get the out as per requirement we have to establish IATF-16949, that is Quality Management system. After implementing IATF requirement means implementing clauses of IATF in organization, then output will be customer satisfaction. This is key requirement of an organization to run any business.

IATF structure explained

You may also like following article-

SMT PCB assembly Process

AIAG VDA FMEA and Action Priority